---
agentTools:
  projectIndex: https://help.localizejs.com/llms.txt
---

# User Groups

Organize and manage permissions for your team by creating User Groups.

Creating **User Groups** for your team will allow you to assign specific permissions for specific groups of people in your team, allowing you to assign permisssions "in bulk".

You can create and manage your User Groups in your Localize dashboard on the [Team page](https://app.localizejs.com/organization/team?filter=all) under **Manage Organization**. User Groups are created at the Organization level, just like Team members.

Watch this short video which shows you how to work with User Groups:

[block:html]
{
  "html": "<iframe src=\"https://player.vimeo.com/video/577270857\" width=\"640\" height=\"360\" frameborder=\"0\" allow=\"autoplay; fullscreen; picture-in-picture\" allowfullscreen></iframe>"
}
[/block]

## Create a User Group

1. Navigate to the **Team** page under **Manage Organization**.
2. Click the **User Groups** tab.
3. Click the **Create a Group** button.

[block:image]
{
  "images": [
    {
      "image": [
        "https://files.readme.io/44938a7-User_Groups_Panel_v2.jpg",
        "User Groups Panel.png",
        2040
      ],
      "align": "center"
    }
  ]
}
[/block]

2. Enter a name and a description for the group, and click **Save Group**.

[block:image]
{
  "images": [
    {
      "image": [
        "https://files.readme.io/2335c4e-Create_User_Group_v2.jpg",
        "Create User Group.png",
        2096
      ],
      "align": "center",
      "border": true
    }
  ]
}
[/block]

## Edit a User Group

1. Click the **Manage Group** button.
2. Make your changes and click **Update**.

[block:image]
{
  "images": [
    {
      "image": [
        "https://files.readme.io/a7bc4c5-Manage_Group_v2.png",
        "Manage Group.png",
        2056
      ],
      "align": "center",
      "border": true
    }
  ]
}
[/block]

## Add Members to a Group

1. Click the **Manage Group** button.
2. Click the **Group Members** tab.
3. Click on the **+ Add group members** field and start typing the name of a team member.
4. Select the team member from the list then click **Add**.

[block:image]
{
  "images": [
    {
      "image": [
        "https://files.readme.io/465d0a3-Add_Group_Members_v2.png",
        "Add Group Members.png",
        2056
      ],
      "align": "center",
      "border": true
    }
  ]
}
[/block]

## Remove a Member from a Group

There are two ways to remove a member from a group.

### From the **User Groups** tab

1. Navigate to the **Team** page under **Manage Organization**.
2. Click the **User Groups** tab.
3. Click the **Manage Group** button for a specific Group.
4. Click the **Group Members** tab
5. Click on the **X** next to the team member that you'd like to remove.

### From the **Your Team** tab

1. Navigate to the **Team** page under **Manage Organization**.
2. Click on the **Your Team** tab.
3. Click **Manage Access** for a specific team member.
4. Click on the **Groups** tab.
5. Click the **Remove from group** link for the appropriate group.

[block:image]
{
  "images": [
    {
      "image": [
        "https://files.readme.io/d626838-Team_-_Remove_user_from_group.png",
        "Team - Remove user from group.png",
        994
      ],
      "align": "center",
      "border": true
    }
  ]
}
[/block]

## Permissions

Each User Group will have it own unique set of permissions, providing the appropriate access to the features required for that group.

> 📘 Permissions are Additive
>
> Note that any permissions granted to an individual team member in the group are granted in addition to the permissions set up in the User Group, and vice versa.
>
> This also applies if the user is in multiple User Groups - the permissions are additive.
>
> This allows you to have incredible flexibility in assigning permissions across your team.

To set up the permissions for a new group or to alter permissions for an existing group:

1. Click the **Manage Group** button.
2. Click the **Permissions** tab.
3. Select the appropriate permissions for the Group (see details below).

[block:image]
{
  "images": [
    {
      "image": [
        "https://files.readme.io/26d2f42-User_Group_Permissions_3.jpg",
        "User Group Permissions 2.png",
        1099
      ],
      "align": "center",
      "border": true
    }
  ]
}
[/block]

### Organization Permissions

**Organization Permissions are applied to the entire Organization.**

| Permission          | Description                                                                                    |
| :------------------ | :--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| **Create projects** | Add new Projects to the Organization.                                                          |
| **Billing**         | Manage payment details, make subscription changes and purchase credits for translation orders. |

### Project Permissions

**Project Permissions can be applied to all Projects or specific Projects in the Organization.**

| Permission              | Description                                                                                                                                                                                                    |
| :---------------------- | :------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| **Admin**               | Admins have full project access that includes managing team members and project settings.  They also have all project permissions regarding content approval, translations, translation orders, and languages. |
| **Translation Manager** | Add, edit, delete and review translations in all languages or selected languages.                                                                                                                              |
| **Translator**          | Add new translations in all languages or selected languages.                                                                                                                                                   |
| **Content Manager**     | Approve, block and delete Phrases.  Manage glossary terms.                                                                                                                                                     |
| **Phrase Keys**         | Edit phrase keys. (requires the Phrases permission)                                                                                                                                                            |
| **Order**               | Place orders for professional translations with organization credits.                                                                                                                                          |
| **Languages**           | Enable and disable languages.                                                                                                                                                                                  |
| **View**                | View projects and settings, without access to make changes.                                                                                                                                                    |

## Delete a Group

1. Click the **Manage Group** button.
2. Click the **Permissions** tab.
3. Scroll to the bottom and click **Delete Group**
4. Confirm the deletion when asked.