Phrase States, History & Deleting

When viewing the Phrases tab, you can filter your site's content based on each phrase's current status:

Published

Published phrases are phrases with live translations that are published in your website or mobile application.


In-Progress

The In-Progress bins are available if you are using the In-Progress Workflow.

πŸ“˜

Subscription Requirement

Please note that the In-Progress Workflow is only available on Growth Plans and higher.)

Needs Review

Contains phrases that were translated by your own translators (or were machine translated) and are now awaiting a Translation Manager to approve the phrases to be published.

Needs Translation

Contains phrases that were approved for translation, but have not yet had a translation added by a translator.

Rejected

Contains translated phrases that were submitted for review, but were rejected by an admin. The reviewer has the option of adding an explanation of why the translation was rejected.


Pending

In a web-based project, after refreshing and visiting each page of your site, Localize will detect your content and pull it into your Pending bin. Pending phrases are not yet translated and are awaiting action.


Archived Phrases

Translations of archived phrases will not be displayed in your website/app.

Deprecated

Phrases that have not been detected on your site for over 24 days are automatically moved to the Archive: Deprecated bin. If that deprecated content is found again on your website, it will be reactivated automatically, with all of its translations.

Depending on your website traffic patterns (e.g. plenty of infrequently-visited pages), you may consider disabling the "Archive unused phrases" option. You can also change the number of days before deprecation.

Blocked

You may also choose to block phrases from being translated. Blocking a phrase prevents that phrase from ever populating into your Pending bin again. If you change your mind, simply go to your Archive: Blocked bin and retrieve the phrase by moving it back to Pending or Published.

(NOTE: There is no Blocked bin in a Mobile project.)

Trash

Phrases that are moved to Trash will only remain in your Archive: Trash until the next time someone visits or refreshes the page with the phrase. Once that page is revisited, Localize will detect the phrase again and automatically pull it back into your Pending bin.

You can permanently delete phrases that are in the trash by following the instructions here.

πŸ“˜

Trash emptied every 30 days

Phrases that are left in the trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days.

Deleted

Phrases that have been deleted using the Empty trash button are permanently deleted, and can no longer be retrieved.

Phrase History

Localize allows you to easily review the revision history of both phrases and translations right in the Phrases tab of your dashboard. Just click on the History button under the translated phrase (or in the drop-down for the phrase).

When in the History pop-up modal, you can click on Phrase History to see the following information about the phrase.

You can also use the Filters option to show only the information that you want to see.

Phrase State

  • The bin the phrase was moved from and to where it was moved
  • Who moved it
  • When it was moved
  • When the phrase was originally created

Context

If context was added to the phrase it will show:

  • The context itself.
  • Who added it
  • When it was added or removed

Screenshots

If a screenshot was added to the phrase it will show:

  • Who added it
  • When it was added or removed

Labels

If a label was added to the phrase it will show:

  • Who added it
  • When it was added or removed

Permanently Delete Phrases

Phrases can be put into the Trash bin when they are no longer needed.

You can permanently delete phrases that are in the trash by doing the following:

  1. Select the Archive bin
  2. Select the Trash bin
  3. Click Empty trash
  4. Confirm the Delete
    After clicking Empty trash you will be asked to verify that you really want to delete all phrases that are in the Trash. Click Confirm to proceed, or Cancel.
  5. Confirmation
    If you chose to delete all phrases, a confirmation of the delete will be shown.

Note that ALL phrases will be deleted, you cannot select individual phrases to delete.

❗️

Loss of Data!!!

Phrases that have been deleted using the Empty trash button are permanently deleted, and can no longer be retrieved.

Updated about a month ago


Phrase States, History & Deleting


Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.